HCL Logo

The Truman Area Community Network
A Community Information Source
supported by the Henry County Library


Henry County: Teachers at Rural schools
1926-1927 term.

Numbers with no school name and teacher name represent schools that had closed, or become part of a consolidated district. Brownington District No. 95 was listed with city school districts, not with rural districts, although actually organized as a rural district.

Of the other unused numbers, No. 15 was probably the original Shawnee Mound rural school. Around 1920 it became part of the Shawnee C-3 district and was thus not included in the regular rural schools list. (The Shawnee C-3 District operated a combined high school and grade school at Shawnee Mound.) Nos 20, 21, 22 and 23 most likely represent the original schools of the Norris C-1 district. Again, they were not included in the regular rural schools list. (The Norris C-1 District operated the Norris High School, and 4 grade schools, Agricola, Compromise, Victor and one other.) No. 25 was probably the Brushy School, which had become part of the Blairstown Consolidated system. Brushy School was still in operation as late as 1940, but, again, the teachers were not in the regular rural school list.

  2  Berry                       Miss Jewell Renfro
  3  Crews                       Mrs. Marjorie Faith
  4  Oakdale                     Miss Gladys M. Ira
  5  Hughes                      Miss Ida Durbin
  6  Edgewood                    Miss Audra Powell
  7  Powell                      Miss Anna Lee Starkey
  8  Liberty                     Miss Opal Miller
  9  Pleasant View               Miss Lillie M . Bell
 10  Hickory Grove               Miss Ethel Crooks
 11  Plum Grove                  Mr. Hubert Shemwell
 12  Merritt                     Miss Frances Laycock
 13  Highland                    Miss Lillian Wiley
 14  Union                       Miss Florence Brown
 16  Dunham                      Mrs. Kathryn Turner
 17  Little Grant                Miss Ettie P. Rucker
 18  Comer                       Miss Nona Moberly
 19  Huntingdale                 Miss Mary A. Barnett
 24  Cornett                     Miss Nettie Bennet
 26  Bee Branch                  Mrs. Lena McKean
 27  Bunker Hill                 Miss Audrey Shroder
 28  Enterprise                  Miss Fern Hillbrand
 29  Oak Grove                   Miss Amy Fowler
 30  Hickory Grove               Mrs. Inez Walker
 31  Maple Grove                 Miss Mable Harnes
 32  Lucas                       Miss Georgia Jackson
 33  Garland                     Miss Daisy Elizabeth Lane
 34  Hartwell                    Miss Evelyn Wareham
 35  White                       Miss Margaret Alexander
 36  Marvin                      Miss Thelma Gregg
 37  Curtis                      Miss Ollie Houston
 38  Collins                     Miss Beulah Reid
 39  Land                        Miss Ruth O. Tillman
 40  Fields Creek                Mrs. Margaret Simms
 41  East                        Mrs. Mary Wiley Hutcherson
 42  Lewis                       Miss Mary Cunningham
 43  Bronaugh                    Miss Minnie Schmidt
 44  Deer Creek                  Miss Elma Wirsig
 45  Oakland                     Miss Ina Fowler
 46  Moore                       Miss Vergie Moreland
 47  Roseland                    Miss Pearl Freeman
 48  George                      John Ragland
 49  Leesville                   Mrs. Della M. Hall
 50  Hortense                    Miss Bessie M. Butz
 51  Logan                       Mrs. Vivian Preussner
 52  Shady Grove                 Miss Pearl Stafford
 53  Turner                      Miss Iva Fowler
 54  Coal                        Woodford Sargent
 55  Star                        Miss Daisy McClane
 56  Freedom                     Miss Sever Hostin
 57  Good Hope                   Miss Eula E. Witherspoon
 58  Greenridge                  Mrs. Harold McGinness
 59  Bethlehem                   M. M. Hill
 60  Russell                     Miss Louise Russell
 61  New Harmony                 Miss Margret Grunig
 62  Lima                        Miss Sadie P. Smith
 63  Independence                Miss Alice Knisp
 64  Mount Carmel                Miss Edith S. Smith
 65  Mound                       Miss Virginia Calvird
 66  Elm Branch                  Miss Ramona L. Robertson
 67  Ladue                       Ross Bartlett
 68  Willow Branch               Miss Bessie Dixon
 69  Camp Branch                 Miss Lucile Zehnder
 70  White Oak                   Mrs. Flora Koontz
 71  Cleveland                   Miss Costa D. Williamson
 72  American                    Miss Evelyn Zehnder
 73  Piper                       J. D. Croley
 74  Aurora                      Miss Ruth Chenoweth
 75  Mt. Hope                    Miss Elizabeth Schmedding
 76  Maple Grove                 Sister Mary Theophana
 77  Wagner                      Miss Mary Schmedding
 78  Enterprise                  Miss Nevaleen Williams
 79  Browning                    Miss Mildred Sadler
 80  Glenwood                    Miss Florence Kelland
 81  Franklin                    Mrs. Ollie Hendrick
 82  Lone Vale                   Miss Beatrice Ione Vansant
 83  Farmers Institute           Miss Bernice Williams
 84  Antioch                     Miss Edna Fudge
 85  Lookout                     Miss Esther Knierim
 86  Fairview                    Miss Nannie M. Dunning
 87  Shiloh                      Mrs. Gladys Dunning
 88  Tranquility                 Mrs. Lena Richeson
 89  Pleasant Valley             Miss Geneva Park
 90  Glendale                    Miss Georgia McVey
 91  Surprise                    Miss Lorene Witherspoon
 92  Richland                    Miss Maud Luallin
 93  Columbia Hall               Miss Ruby Parks
 94  Hay Creek                   Miss Nola Smith
 96  County Line                 Miss Maybelle Burt
 97  Diamond Point               Clarence Jones
 98  Pleasant Ridge              Mrs. Frances Barnes
 99  Mound Springs               Ira Denny
100  Finey                       G. W. Hannum
101  Prairie Grove               Miss Edith Foster
[Return to History Page]

[TACnet Home Page] [Upcoming Events] [Henry County Library]
Truman Area Community Network © 1995 - 2016.
Send comments to: Webmaster, mike.good@henrycolib.org
Last modified: Monday, 02-Jun-2008 13:58:59 CDT